As of July 1, 2012, the Division of Public Health has implemented Title 16, Ch 49A of the Delaware Code. This is the Delaware Medical Marijuana Act which regulates the medical use of marijuana within the state. It states that patients 18 and older with qualifying medical conditions may possess up to six ounces of medical marijuana with a doctor’s recommendation. However, personal cultivation of cannabis is prohibited on all accounts in Delaware.
To obtain a medical marijuana card in the state of Delaware, one must visit a local physician and receive a recommendation from them stating that you would benefit from the use of medical marijuana. Upon completion of the application process you will receive a medical marijuana card and must register at the compassion center nearest you.
To find a doctor within your community, please enter your location in the search field above.
Currently, there are very few compassion centers in Delaware as the state only allows for one compassion center per county. Registered compassion centers cannot dispense more than three ounces of marijuana to a single patient in any 14-day period. Please enter your location in the search field above to find trust, legal medical marijuana businesses in your area.
Thus far, recreational marijuana is illegal in the state of Delaware. Currently, the Delaware House Committee on Public Safety and Homeland Security approved legislation to replace the criminal penalty for marijuana possession with a civil fine of $100.00. The bill, HB 39, would decriminalize marijuana with no possibility for jail time.
Currently, the state of Delaware does not condone the use of recreational marijuana for citizens of any age.
It is illegal to smoke recreational marijuana anywhere in the state of Delaware. Currently, only medical marijuana patients are allowed to consume their medicine in private settings. It is illegal for anyone to consume marijuana in public places such as cars, parks, concerts, federal lands, etc.
Currently, the citizens of Delaware are not legally allowed to possess any recreational marijuana. There are talks of marijuana becoming decriminalized in the state and that bill would impose a $100.00 fine for possession of up to one ounce of marijuana if it passes.