Cannabis is currently illegal in the state of Alabama and the state has not had any successful decriminalization efforts. Possession of any amount of weed can lead to a $6,000 fine and up to a year in prison. Despite being one of the most conservative states on the topic of weed legalization, there was some promise for medical use in 2020. On March 13th, 2020, The State Senate approved of the Compassion Act. However, due to the Coronavirus pandemic, legislation was stalled, and the bill never reached The House.
Due to these circumstances, medical marijuana is not looking promising for 2020, and the battle for medical marijuana remains ablaze for hopefully just one more year.
Alabama has not legalized marijuana in any form. Because of their strict laws, buying marijuana legally is nonexistent.
Buying marijuana in Alabama at a retail location is completely illegal at this point. Stay tuned for potential legalization in the future!
Marijuana delivery services are highly illegal in the state of Alabama. If caught on the roads and deemed with an “intent to sell”, you could be charged with a Class B felony- punishable with a minimum of 2 years and a maximum sentence of 20 years in addition to a $30,000 fine.
Cannabis in Alabama is Illegal. Therefore, dispensaries in the state are nonexistent. However, once weed becomes legal in ideally a few short years, be sure to check back at Where’s Weed for the latest on all of your cannabis services and inquiries.
As of right now, purchasing cannabis of any amount in any form is highly illegal and is a highly punishable offense.
There are no available cannabis products for sale in the state of Alabama currently. Be sure to check back in with us once marijuana becomes legal for all your cannabis needs.
While it is not legal to purchase marijuana in any form, there are no taxes on marijuana. However, if one were to be in the possession of “contraband” they are legally required to buy and affix state-issued stamps onto said “contraband”. Failure to do so will be subject to extensive fines.
Although the Compassion Act Bill has been tabled due to the Coronavirus pandemic, it has set some guidelines for taxes should it pass. Alabama will impose a 9% gross proceeds tax for businesses and will also levy an annual privilege tax for dispensaries. It is unclear what patients will have to pay at the moment.
Possession of cannabis in any form or amount for recreational use in the state of Alabama is a misdemeanor. The maximum sentence for this offense would be a year in jail and a $6,000 fine. Possession of cannabis for non-recreational purposes is deemed as far more serious: minimum of 10 years in prison and a $60,000 fine.
The use of marijuana in Alabama is highly prohibited. Marijuana, both recreationally and medically, is strictly illegal. Alabama is notorious for its ferocious laws and intense punishments. Please refer back to Where’s Weed once the state’s laws soon change to stay updated on everything Marijuana.
Regardless of the state, smoking weed on federal land is a federal crime because weed has not yet been legalized nationally. Please refrain from any such activities on federal lands or you will be subject to at least one year of incarceration and a $1000 fine for just possession alone!
Medical marijuana in Alabama is still nonexistent and is not legal to partake in any form. On March 13th, 2020, the State Senate approved of the Compassion Act. This was stalled due to the Coronavirus pandemic and will hopefully see a vote by the House in 2021. Unfortunately, this legislation is quite restrictive as it does not allow the consumption of flower, edibles, or vaporizers. Only 4 dispensaries will be given licenses under this law, with each able to have 3 different locations. Although this is quite restricting, we’re hopeful for improvements to be made after legalization eventually takes place.
Medical marijuana is not legal in Alabama currently. Consequently, obtaining a medical marijuana card is not a possibility. However, if the Compassion Act does pass, patients will first need to have a qualifying condition determined by the state and must have tried other conventional forms of medication before being prescribed medical marijuana. There will be a $65 application fee and the patient’s doctor must also submit a form. Once medical marijuana becomes legalized in the state of Alabama, please be sure to check back in for detailed instructions on how to obtain a medical marijuana card of your own!
Without the legalization of medical marijuana in Alabama, there is currently no opportunity to purchase marijuana with a medical card. If the Compassion Act passes, out of state residents will be able to apply for a temporary medical marijuana card valid in Alabama. Be sure to check back in with us to learn more about the reciprocity of medical marijuana cards for Alabama if any legislation passes.
Transporting marijuana in Alabama is highly illegal. Because marijuana is illegal both federally and in Alabama, it is illegal to possess marijuana of any amount within the state’s borders.
There is no legal limit that is safe to drive high in the state of Alabama. Any sign of impairment will warrant a drug inspecting officer to be notified and sent to investigate one’s driving condition. Driving under the influence of marijuana can result in massive legal problems similar to that of a DUI.
Despite legalization efforts, no one under any circumstances is allowed to drive across state lines with marijuana. As mentioned above, marijuana is still illegal in the US on a federal level and state lines are under the federal government’s jurisdiction. Therefore, it is illegal to transport marijuana from state to state, and cops are often told to look for any attempt of smuggling marijuana across state lines.
Growing Marijuana in Alabama is strictly prohibited. Alabama has set forth many punishments and fines for those caught growing weed within the state. If caught possessing or using paraphernalia, the crime will be seen as a misdemeanor and is punishable with a $6,000 fine and up to a year in jail. If deemed with the intent to manufacture and sell marijuana, your punishment quickly becomes a felony- resulting in a $15,000 fine and 1-10 years in incarceration.