Weed is currently not legal in Tennessee. Although 81% of voters have shown support for doctor-prescribed cannabis, the state does not have a voter initiative process to legalize the plant. Rather, the power for legalization rests solely with elected officials. We’re hopeful that the officials will listen to their constituents, and will keep this page updated with any changes in legislation.
Buying marijuana at this point in Tennessee is not a possibility. Marijuana is strictly prohibited, and the possibility of legalization is currently looking bleak. Please keep in mind that although the legalization of marijuana has been widespread throughout the country, Tennessee is relatively conservative in its stance against marijuana.
Buying marijuana at a retail location is not possible at this time considering that marijuana is illegal. However, if you are looking for alternative healing methods related to the cannabis plant, please consider CBD oil. CBD oil is a cannabis extract that is federally legal and contains trace amounts of THC.
Using a marijuana delivery service is not possible within Tennessee. Even if you are able to find one, keep in mind that it is highly illegal. If someone is caught delivering and/or selling marijuana, it is classified as a felony resulting in 1-6 years in incarceration and a $5,000 fine.
Because there are no stores existent to distribute marijuana within Tennessee, there are no store hours to report. Please be sure to check back in within us once the state’s laws change to get an up-to-date overview of marijuana laws and store information.
The purchasing restrictions of marijuana are strict but straightforward. No one is allowed to purchase marijuana for any reason. If prescribed, one can obtain cannabidiol as long as it contains less than 9/10s of 1% of THC. Please keep in mind that possession of marijuana, no matter the means of obtaining it, is strictly prohibited and bears expensive fines.
Currently, the list of products related to cannabis is scarce. Marijuana flower is strictly prohibited, and so are any extracts or products that contain trace amounts of THC. However, CBD is a safe alternative that is federally legal and provides just as many benefits as THC-potent products.
Although taxes on the sale of marijuana do not exist, the state does tax those caught with marijuana. Known as tax stamps, the state requires those in possession of marijuana to buy stamps to place on their contraband at the cost of $3.50 / gram if the owner possesses 42.5 grams or more. If caught in possession of marijuana without buying these tax stamps, they are required to pay a fine of 200% of the original tax assessed and interest.
Unfortunately, medical marijuana is still illegal within Tennessee. However, if you do possess a certain amount of marijuana, you are subject to pay the state’s tax stamps. Please see above for further information regarding the stamp. Declared unconstitutional by the appellate court, the legitimacy of tax stamps is pending with the state Supreme Court. Until then, please be sure to follow the law.
The laws for possession of marijuana within the state is straightforward. If one is caught with ½ oz or less and it is their first offense, they are to pay a $250 fine and a possible sentence of 1 year in jail. Subsequent offenses are subject to $500 in fines and 1 year in incarceration. If caught with more, officers can charge you with possession with intent to sell. This carries a $5,000 fine and a possibility of 1-6 years in incarceration.
Using marijuana within the state is strictly prohibited. By law, residents may not possess or smoke marijuana. No matter if in the safety of your own home or at the park, both are very much illegal.
Smoking cannabis on federal land is a considerable offense. Regardless of state, as long as cannabis is illegal federally, marijuana possession and use on federal lands are to be considered a federal crime. Punishments range from large fines to years in jail.
Medical marijuana in Tennessee is nonexistent. State law has prohibited the use of cannabis for all- despite any situation or medical need. If you are seeking marijuana relief, please be sure to visit the many states that have allowed medical or recreational marijuana in order to fulfill your needs legally.
Obtaining a medical marijuana card is impossible within the state. There has been no infrastructure created by the state that would provide cards for those in need. Currently, you must seek elsewhere to legally obtain a prescription for marijuana.
As described above, medical marijuana has yet to be legalized. Thus, obtaining a medical marijuana card is impossible, and more so, there is no reciprocity regarding out of state medical cards because there is no place to use it. Please be sure to check back with us in the future once the laws change.
Transporting marijuana in Tennessee is a serious crime. Depending on the amount you are caught with, it would either be a normal possession crime, or possession with the intent to sell. The latter results in a felony charge, in addition to a $5,000 fine and 1-6 years in jail.
Driving under the influence of marijuana is a terrible crime to commit. It is the same as a DUI, carries hefty penalties, and puts your life at risk as well as others around you. If caught with trace amounts of THC in your bloodstream, you will lose your license and might face jail time or be required to attend a mandatory education course. Please be smart when considering driving.
Despite legalization efforts in certain states, driving across state lines with marijuana is a federal offense. Although it may be tempting to bring back home marijuana that you have acquired from a state where marijuana is legal, it is still illegal if brought back into the state of Tennessee. By crossing the state line, the crime becomes a federal offense- which brings on more serious charges, fines, and possibilities for incarceration. It would be in your best interest to not smuggle marijuana across the state’s border.
Growing marijuana in Tennessee might be one of the worst crimes to commit within the state in terms of punishment. Growing marijuana, no matter the amount, is a felony. The minimum punishment results in a $5,000 fine and up to 6 years in incarceration. If caught with 10-19 plants, the years double and the fine increases to $50,000. Please be wary of the state’s laws and to remember that it is in your best interest to refrain from growing marijuana.
Subscribe to our newsletter for the latest news & cannabis culture straight to your inbox!