Thousands of people are using Where's Weed to find marijuana in Nevada

Medical Marijuana in Nevada

As of November 7, 2000, Nevada voters approved Ballot Question 9 allowing for the legal consumption of medical marijuana. Medical marijuana patients in the state of Nevada are allowed to possess up to 2.5 ounces of useable marijuana in any one 14 day period. Patients are also allowed to have up to 12 marijuana plants in their home (or with their caregiver), regardless of whether or not the plants are mature or immature.

Frequently asked questions about medical cannabis in Nevada:

  • How do I obtain a medical marijuana card in the state of Nevada?

    To get your medical marijuana card in the state of Nevada, a person must be diagnosed with a chronic or debilitating condition and reside in Nevada. Once recommended by a local physician, a registered patient may use their card at dispensaries of their choosing. Please note that the card is good for one year only. It must be renewed annually, one year from the date your application was stamped. The same procedure used in the original application process must be followed.

  • Where can I find a medical marijuana doctor for a recommendation in Nevada?

    To find a local doctor within your community, please enter your location in the search field above.

  • What is needed to submit an application for a medical marijuana card?

    The application packet and process consists of:

    • Application page - Information filled out and signed accordingly by applicant
    • Attending Physician's Statement
    • Waiver and Acknowledgement - Both forms must be notarized (Applicant is responsible for notary fees)
    • Caregiver Application - If requested by applicant or if applicant is a minor
    • Minor Release Form - Required if applicant is under 18 years and must be notarized
    • Proof of Nevada Residency - A copy of the applicant's driver's license or ID card issued by Nevada DMV
    • Application fee - $25.00, due at time of request
    • Cost to register or renew registration in the Medical Marijuana Program - $75.00
  • Where can I purchase medical marijuana in Nevada?

    Patients with a valid Nevada Medical Marijuana Patient or Caregiver card and proper photo identification can purchase marijuana at local dispensaries of their choosing. Please enter your location in the search field above to find trusted, legal medical marijuana businesses in your area.

Recreational Marijuana in Nevada

The Nevada Legislature has decided to skip the consideration of Initiative Petition 1, which proposes legalizing marijuana for adults 21 years of age and older and taxing and regulating like alcohol. This decision means the initiative to tax and regulate marijuana for recreational use will be considered again by Nevada voters in November 2016.

Frequently asked questions about recreational cannabis in Nevada:

  • How old do I have to be to purchase recreational marijuana in the state of Nevada?

    Currently, only patients with a medical marijuana card can purchase marijuana at local dispensaries. However, citizens of Nevada should be keeping their fingers crossed because we will hopefully be seeing this on the ballot in 2016! If the initiative passes, citizens will have to be 21 years of age or older to purchase.

  • Where can I purchase recreational marijuana in Nevada?

    No where just yet. Hopefully after November 2016 you will be able to purchase it at any state licensed store. The effective date for the current initiative is January 1, 2017, just two months after the November vote. If all goes according to plan, the state of Nevada is anticipating opening up licensed stores January 1, 2018.

  • Where am I legally allowed to consume recreational marijuana in Nevada?

    Legally, no where, and be careful because Nevada is pretty strict on these laws. If you are a medical marijuana patient, you are allowed to consume within the privacy of your home or somewhere away from the public. It is illegal to consume in public places such as parks, casinos, concerts, federal land, etc.

  • How much recreational marijuana can I have in my possession in the state of Nevada?

    Legally, none. Without your Nevada Medical Marijuana Card, cannabis possession for personal use under one ounce is only punishable by a maximum of $600.00 fine and possible submission for a drug addiction screening. With your Nevada Medical Marijuana Card you are allowed to possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable cannabis.