Cannabis in Maine
Maine Cannabis Laws
Is Weed Legal in Maine?
Yes! Medical marijuana in Maine has been prescribed since 1999, although there wasn’t any proper establishment for supplying and distributing medical marijuana. Therefore, questions about how to obtain medical marijuana led to confusion and eventually brought the issue to legislators. Four years later, on November 3, 2003, Maine voters passed “An Act to Establish the Maine Medical Marijuana Act” which allowed medical marijuana dispensaries.
On November 8th, 2016, Maine became the 9th state to legalize recreational marijuana for adults 21 and up. However, just like alcohol sales in Maine, each municipality reserves the right to make itself a “dry town.” As of now, a few municipalities in Maine have elected to enact this right so make sure to double-check that your town isn’t a dry town.
Buying Marijuana in Maine
Medical marijuana patients may easily purchase marijuana from a licensed dispensary. While there are limited dispensaries open at this time, the recreational market officially opened in October of 2020 after delays due to COVID-19.
Buying Marijuana at a Retail Location
For those wishing to purchase adult-use marijuana, there are several dispensaries open in Maine to choose from. Adults must simply be 21 and over. Medical marijuana patients who hold a valid Maine medical marijuana card are allowed to purchase cannabis from a medical dispensary.
Using a Marijuana Delivery Service
Medical marijuana users may order marijuana for delivery from a dispensary. Most dispensaries in Bangor, Portland, and Augusta offer delivery as well as curbside pickup. For now, recreational marijuana is not available for delivery.
There are no restrictions on when stores can open, and most dispensaries operate between 8:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m. Be sure to check store hours before visiting!
Both medical marijuana and recreational marijuana consumers are allowed to purchase 2.5 ounces of flower or purchase 2.5 ounces of flower and concentrate with no more than 5 grams of it being concentrates. In addition, medical users are restricted to purchasing no more than 5 ounces per month unless authorized by their caregiver or medical doctor.
With the advance of marijuana technology, various consumption methods such as ingesting or vaporizing marijuana can be found across Maine. In addition, you can find great flower with a wide variety of strains. Finally, since medical marijuana is so big in Maine, there have been lots of advances in creams and ointments to soothe various conditions like arthritis.
Taxes on Marijuana in Maine
Taxes on Recreational Marijuana in Maine
Marijuana taxes account for a lot of Maine’s tax revenue. There is a 10% sales tax added to the final transaction of the product. On the backend, marijuana is taxed in the following way:
· $335 per pound of flower
· $94 per pound of trim
· $1.15 per seedling
· $0.30 per seed
Taxes on Medical Marijuana in Maine
Medical Marijuana in Maine is also subject to the excise tax listed above. However, the only difference in tax for medical marijuana is that the sales tax is lowered to 5.5% for flower and 8% for edibles.
The possession limits in Maine are the same as the purchasing limits. Therefore, adults 21 and up are legally allowed to possess 2.5 ounces of flower or 2.5 ounces of flower and concentrates with no more than five grams of it being concentrates.
Growing marijuana in Maine also comes with a lot more perks than most states. In fact, adults are allowed to possess 3 flowering plants and 12 immature plants as well as unlimited seedlings. From this, an adult is allowed to possess all the weed from the harvest of the flowering plants.
Using Marijuana in Maine
In Maine, the rules for consuming marijuana are quite simple to follow. For the most part, the rule is you should only smoke or consume weed in the privacy of your own property. There have been no lounges or areas designated to smoking marijuana in Maine and there have been no immediate measures to allow for it.
Areas in Maine that DO allow the use of marijuana:
- Private residence out of sight of the public
- Airbnb’s if given permission from the owner
Areas in Maine that DO NOT allow the use of marijuana:
- Any public place
- Any federally owned land
- Any place where smoking tobacco is prohibited
Smoking on Federal Lands
Due to the fact that marijuana is still illegal on a federal level, any federal land is off-limits for smoking marijuana. Because of this, there are serious penalties for consuming or even possessing marijuana that will result in one being prosecuted under federal jurisdiction.
Medical Marijuana in Maine
Medical marijuana has been a booming industry and became the third-largest means of revenue in Maine – behind lobster and potatoes. As of 2019 anyone with a valid medical card, even people from different states, have been allowed to purchase medical marijuana in the state of Maine. Caregivers are also a major aspect of Maine’s medical marijuana, and anyone who is 21 and up is allowed to register to become a caregiver and can treat multiple patients.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Maine
Obtaining a medical card in Maine has become quite simple through the years and the process is very similar to the majority of other states. First, one must find a physician in Maine who recommends marijuana as a treatment for existing conditions. Your physician is entirely responsible for mediating the process of obtaining your medical card with the state. If your physician deems your condition eligible for medical marijuana you will then have to register with the MMMP (Maine Medical Use of Marijuana Program). After completion of registration, you will then be sent your medical card in the mail. Medical marijuana cards in Maine are valid for one year and can be renewed yearly for $100.
Out of State Medical Cards Maine
As of 2019, Maine has allowed for the reciprocity of medical marijuana cards. This means valid medical marijuana cardholders regardless of state are allowed to purchase medical marijuana in Maine.
How to Transport Marijuana in Maine
Transporting Marijuana in Maine
Transporting weed in Maine is a strict rule and must be followed under the Maine Police Department. When marijuana is in your vehicle, you must have sealed and out of the reach of the driver. It is always best practice to leave your weed in the trunk of your car or behind the backseat.
Driving While Under the Influence of Marijuana
Driving while high is a bad idea for many reasons. Not only does it put you and other individuals at unnecessary risk, but you could also be charged with an OUI, similar to a DUI. which destroys your driving record and greatly increases your insurance rates. These are lifelong penalties that can be easily avoided by calling an Uber or hitching a ride with a sober friend. It’s also important to note that in Maine you can be charged if a passenger is lighting up next to you. When driving with your weed make sure it’s secured and complying with the rules in the section above to avoid penalty from the cops!
Driving Across State Lines with Marijuana
If you’re planning on traveling with weed to or from Maine, you might want to think again. Traveling with marijuana across state lines is federally illegal and violators may face large fines, jail time, and even criminal charges to their record. Even if you are heading to a nearby state that also has legalized recreational weed, such as Vermont, it is still considered a crime to cross borders with your stash. Also, note that it is illegal to mail marijuana from Maine. So be sure to only buy as much as you can smoke on your trip!
Growing Marijuana in Maine
In Maine, any resident over the age of 21 can grow up to three mature plants, twelve immature plants, and an unlimited number of seedlings. However, the grower must keep the plants out of sight from the public and take reasonable precautions to prevent access by individuals under 21. Also, all plants must be clearly labeled with the grower’s name, driver’s license or state ID number, and a notation that the plants are being grown as authorized by the law. If you are growing on someone else’s property, say in a rental building, you must also have the landowner's name and permission to grow on the plant labels. It is a big responsibility to grow safely and eco-consciously, so if you are thinking about cultivating your own weed make sure you do your research and proceed with care!