Thousands of people are using Where's Weed to find marijuana in Michigan

Medical Marijuana in Michigan

As of November 4, 2008, Michigan voters approved Proposal 1 indicating that medical marijuana is now legal for qualifying patients. Patients are allowed to possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana and are also able to cultivate up to 12 marijuana plants in an enclosed, locked facility. Patients may grow these plants on their own or designate a qualifying caregiver (21 and older) to cultivate for them.

Frequently asked questions about medical cannabis in Michigan:

  • How do I get a medical marijuana card in Michigan?

    To obtain a medical marijuana card in the state of Michigan, one must visit a local physician and be given a recommendation by them. Upon completion of the application process, you will receive a medical marijuana registry card and may begin cultivating your medicine or have your designated caregiver cultivate it for you.

  • Where can I find a medical marijuana doctor for a recommendation in Michigan?

    To find a doctor for a medical marijuana card recommendation in your area, please enter your location in the search field above.

  • What is needed to submit an application for a medical marijuana card?

    • Application Form for Registry Identification Card
    • Patient Fee - $60.00 (Please make checks or money orders payable to: State of Michigan-MMMP)
    • Caregiver Fee - $25.00
    • Copy of Valid Photo ID
    • Physician Certification Form
  • Where can I purchase medical marijuana in Michigan?

    As of February 8, 2013, the Michigan Supreme Court ruled that dispensaries are illegal in the state. Because of this, medical marijuana patients in Michigan will have to grow their own or get it from their designated caregiver (caregivers are limited to five patients).

Recreational Marijuana in Michigan

As of right now, the state of Michigan prohibits the use of recreational marijuana. There is currently, however, a proposed ballot initiative fighting for legalization efforts. If authorized by the Board of State Canvassers, the Michigan Cannabis Coalition's initiated law would require 252,000 valid voter signatures before going to the Legislature. If the lawmakers reject this bill or take no action, it will receive a statewide vote in November 2016.

Frequently asked questions about recreational cannabis in Michigan:

  • How old do I have to be to purchase recreational marijuana in the state of Michigan?

    If and when recreational marijuana becomes legal in Michigan, consumers would need to be at least 21 years of age or older to purchase in retail stores.

  • Where can I purchase recreational marijuana in Michigan?

    There are currently no dispensaries, medical or recreational, in the state of Michigan. Under the proposed Michigan Cannabis Control and Revenue Act, marijuana could be grown in licensed facilities and then sold in licensed retail dispensaries. In this case, all marijuana sales would be taxed and regulated by the state.

  • Where am I legally allowed to consume recreational marijuana?

    It is illegal to consume recreational and medical marijuana in all public places including in cars, parks, local businesses, federal land, etc. Patients with medical marijuana registry cards are allowed to consume their medicine in private and personal settings only.

  • How much recreational marijuana can I have in my possession in the state of Michigan?

    Unless you have a state-issued medical marijuana card, you are not allowed to possess any marijuana in the state of Michigan.